So at first I was going to try and stick to a once a week posting policy… but as time went on, I kinda gave up on that… The truth is, I want to write… and I want people to read… so I’ll post more often or as often as the feeling comes to me.  I am not going to be making playlists anymore… I think I’ll stick to album reviews for now, I also plan on posting an essay on the recent changes in Venezuela.  so… that is something to look forward to.

Anyway, I am going to write about one of my favorite 2001 albums (I know the albums I have reviewed have been older… I am a little behind on new music but I promise to listen and review some 2015 stuff before the year is out.)

The band is Abandoned Pools and the album is their debut, “Humanistic”.  The whole album is great but some tracks really stand out, the first track for instance “the Remedy” always gives me chills.  The song waterfalls into the listeners ear, really cascading from verse to chorus.  The dark and somber tone is played through a delicious soft piano trill that leads to an explosive chorus where the vocal powers home the point.  Unlike the Front Bottoms, Abandoned Pools has more production value behind their recording, which sometimes leads to an almost Industrial quality to the drums and a cleaner more produced sound on the vocal.  Later on the album you’ll hear vocal loops and backing tracks to emphasize different parts of a song.

Track three certainly shows that, I recommend listening to the song “Start Over”.  In it, Tommy Walter explores a theme of lost love, the track really resonates with anyone who has lost somebody and regrets their decisions in a relationship.  The end of a relationship is an often explored place for music but no other break up anthem uses synths so effectively to mask pain and underscore loss.  The heartbreak is really pronounced, take a listen.

While the album might seem sometimes dark and gloomy upon first listen especially on certain tracks like “Monster” and “Ruin your life” one can still find cheerful, easy to digest, clean pop tracks.  “Sunny Day” for instance is the perfect springtime song.  The guitars and synths are warm and the vocal effect really draw out a peaceful place.  The chorus is backed by a “doo doo doo” which firmly gives the song a retro quality that is appreciated and the song just alleviates any mood grounding the album and catapulting the whole thing into the sun.

