Hi all!  So, I am going to continue to try and update more frequently, some stuff has happened in this country since I last updated.  We have a new President elect (I’ll post about that later), and I have changed permanent addresses.  I am no longer a Northern Virginia resident, I now call Orange Park home, and have decided to explore and make my life in Jacksonville Florida.  I plan on exploring the local music scene down here in Florida thoroughly.  However, that is all road mapping.

Tonight I want to write about John Carney’s latest film “Sing Street”.  Cognizant Machine for the most part reviews albums, but the blog’s purpose is to uncover the liberal arts and highlight music I think you the reader should discover and listen to.  I already made an exception to review John Carney’s “Begin Again” which i thought was a spectacular film.  “Sing Street” is better.

Set in the 80s before pop music and cell phones and MTV and modern cars and CDs and the internet, in Dublin Ireland.  The film has so much character.  Every actor on screen, be they musicians (this is a musical) or just role players delivers an amazing performance.  The movie has heart.  The main protagonist Conor (Cosmo) initially dreams up the idea of starting a band to impress a girl but soon he realizes he is enjoying writing music and escaping his dismal life, his parent’s failing marriage, his brother’s stoned lofty expectations, and yeah he was trying to get the girl too.

The dream sequence for the title track (linked below) is a massive set up, not only do we have an 80s tribute to 50s themed American Proms, but we have every major character showing up to cheer on the band while they rehearse in real life to an almost empty stadium.  In the film, Conor imagines his hero ( his older brother) drive in to rescue him and defeat his romantic interests older paramour in a knife fight, all to the tune of what i can only assume is going to be a new favorite original song, perfectly delivered with the on point vocal, kicking saxophone solo, inspired by the greatest 80s pop rock acts of the peak dawn of the music video who were all masters of production.

The music is amazing.  John Carney does not dissapoint.  Not only does the soundtrack feature 80s favorites like Hall and Oates, The Cure, to Duran Duran.  The original songs all are catchy ear worms that reflect the movies influences and setting in new and interesting ways.  As the story progresses the band slowly starts to become more rock and roll in dress and swagger, each new song they write has more and more spirit.  I highly recommend this movie.  I think everyone should enjoy it.  By the time the end comes around I was so thoroughly wrapped up in Cosmo’s journey that I was cheering and applauding.

