Turning point.  Cognizant Machine is going to go through a bit of a redesign, I, like most people, spend a lot of time online.  I want to start doing that more productively.  I want to spend more time on this blog. So I plan on updating this more frequently, with more smaller posts.  I will focus my energies on here.  No more agonizing about content, and worrying about what I put online.  Not all new posts will be album reviews.  Not all new posts will be videos, some will be general updates with things I have found on the web that I think are worth sharing.  but the gist will be the same.  This space will be primarily for music, but I will also review books I am reading, and movies I have seen.  I also plan on tweeking the design a bit in the next few days.  I’ll browse some design options in the upcoming days and consider updating to just cognizantmachine.blog.

Finding an album to review is sort of a process for me.  I generally find something I like, then play it on loop for a couple of days.  Allowing the music to seep into my subconscious.  For today’s update I picked an album I have been listening to for years, one that I found recently at a thrift store and just had to purchase.

 

Our Lady Peace – “Clumsy” did a number on me.  From the opener “Superman’s Dead” an melodic rumination on why our heroes aren’t real with a killer acoustic opener that gently builds into singer Raine Maida’s impressive vocal demonstrated on his accent on the word “why”well the song just rules.  The album keeps on firing on all cylinders with the almost middle eastern sounding “Automatic Flowers”.  The song starts off with a mesmerizing little skat doo doo doo doo, then takes off into a stratosphere, where Maida goes off the rails singing notes in a wide range but expertly sticking the landing.  Title track “Clumsy” the single that most readers will probably recognize is a real treat.  I first heard the song on an episode of Dariah on MTV, the lone piano trill that opens up the track is a crunchy cookie, and the hook and creamy goodness of the lyrics and vocal, are great, finished up with an engaging format and omniscient timeliness and you’ll swear the oreo that is the song is the answer to every teenage angst filled restless night.  “And Maybe you should sleep, and maybe you just need, a friend, as clumsy as you’ve been, there’s no one laughing”  the chorus is perfect and this song makes the album a must have  Check out the video linked below.

the rest of the album can be streamed off youtube from the link below, I strongly recommend purchasing it.

